Loading Events

Astronomy and Australia’s next generation of supercomputers

As part of the Pawsey Supercomputing Centre’s new bi-monthly “Supercomputing Series”, you will hear from the Astronomy community, as they discuss possibilities of the Centre’s new capabilities.

One more time, we have gathered a stellar group of researchers that will be discussing their experiences as part of a panel.

This event will also see the creation of a Community of Practice (CoP) where practitioners will have the opportunity to connect and discuss topics of interest, share best practices, and help answer each other’s questions on astronomy and HPC.

This event has now passed, the recording is available on Pawsey’s YouTube channelhttps://youtu.be/-Y0BJar6gTw.

About the event

  • 9:30 am AWST / 11:30 am AEST / 12:30 pm AEDT


Hosted by Professor Alan Duffy, astrophysicist and Director of Space Technology and Industry Institute at Swinburne University of Technology

Topics covered during this webinar:

  • Astronomy and the researcher’s work
  • Current limitations and the potential of supercomputers to overcome them
  • The next generation of astronomy research

Pawsey supercomputing specialist supporting the astronomy community will join the panel (see here for staff bios):

  • Pascal Elahi
  • Lachlan Campbell

Panellist bios

  • Dr Natasha Hurley-Walker (Curtin University)

Natasha works at the Curtin University node of the International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research. She helped to commission the low-frequency SKA precursor radio telescope, the Murchison Widefield Array (MWA), located in outback Western Australia. Natasha specialises in developing new pipelines and algorithms for radio astronomy data processing, and searching the data for new discoveries. She used the MWA to survey the entire southern sky for the GaLactic and Extragalactic All-sky MWA (GLEAM) survey, which gave astronomers the first “radio colour” view of the low-frequency sky. In 2017 she was named the WA Tall Poppy Scientist of the Year, in 2018 one of the ABC’s Top 5 scientists, and in 2019 a Superstar of STEM. In 2020 Natasha commenced an ARC Future Fellowship to expand the low-frequency view of the universe to greater depth and resolution than ever before.

  • Dr Luigi Iapichino (Leibniz Supercomputing Center) Lead of the Quantum Computing team at LRZ

Luigi is co-founder of the Bavarian Quantum Computing eXchange (BQCX). Among his research interests are quantum computing simulations on high-end HPC systems and HPC/QC integration. He completed his PhD in physics at the Technical University of Munich in 2005, working at the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics. Before moving to LRZ in 2014, he worked at the Universities of Würzburg and Heidelberg, involved in research projects related to computational astrophysics. At LRZ he was team leader of the Application Lab for Astro and Plasma Physics (AstroLab) collaborating with researchers on numerical simulations, code modernisation and visualisation of massive datasets.

  • Dr Elaine Sadler (CSIRO) ATNF Chief Scientist at CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science (CASS)

Elaine Sadler is the ATNF Chief Scientist at CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science (CASS) and Professor of Astrophysics at the University of Sydney. She is an expert in the areas of astrophysics and galaxy evolution and has helped to lead several major astronomical surveys of the southern sky.

As ATNF Chief Scientist, Elaine’s responsibilities include providing strategic advice on the science direction of the ATNF and CSIRO’s Square Kilometre Array (SKA) activities. She continues to carry out research in astronomy, and is co-leader of the ‘First Large Absorption Survey in HI’ (FLASH) project, which is using CSIRO’s Australian SKA Pathfinder (ASKAP) radio telescope in Western Australia to find out how the amount of neutral hydrogen in galaxies (the raw material from which new generations of stars can form) changes over cosmic time.