2018 Honorific Awards: Australian Academy of Science

Science studies the physical and natural worlds through observation and experiment; via question, discovery, explanation and theory. Science uncovers the deepest truth in all aspects of existence in the past, present and future; regardless of scale.

Why is this so important? It helps us predict the future, based on the past; it cures disease, prevents famine, discovers alternate and cleaner energy and so much more! This science is only realised because of the people exploring it. This land has amazing explorers and 18 of them has been recently celebrated by the Australian Academy of Science.

And so, every year, these great minds are recognised and rewarded for their avant-garde research. The Pawsey Supercomputing Centre would like to extend their warmest congratulations to the 2018 honorific awardees from the Australian Academy of Science.

Established to appreciate distinguished research, these awards show recognition and support of the outstanding contributions made to the advancement of science. From early career awards to life-long achievements, the 2018 awards saw 18 scientists recognised from a range of disciplines.

Five scientists were recognised with career honorifics, a prestigious career honorific award that recognises life-long achievement in the outstanding contribution to the advancement of science. The career honorifics for 2018 are Professor Douglas MacFarlane of Monash University, Professor David Cooke of the University of Tasmania, Professor Matt King of the University of Tasmania, Professor Calum John Drummond of RMIT University and Professor Geoffrey Burnstock of the University College London and Melbourne University.

Pawsey would like to especially applaud three early-career awardees – Dr. Rhodri Davies, Dr. Paul Lasky and Associate Professor Amir Karton. Pawsey is proud of having the opportunity to work alongside these three outstanding scientists on their commendable work.

Their work is changing the world and our understanding of it!

Dr Rhodri Davies: The Research School of Earth Sciences, The Australian National University

Dr Rhodri Davies has made outstanding contributions to understanding solid Earth structure and evolution through the development and implementation of powerful computational tools for simulating geodynamical processes.



Dr Paul Lasky: School of Physics and Astronomy, Monash University

Dr Paul Lasky has dedicated his career to furthering our understanding of the most exotic regions of the universe. He is an active member of the LIGO Scientific Collaboration that, in 2016, transformed the very foundations of astrophysics by announcing the first detection of gravitational waves.



Associate Professor Amir Karton: School of Molecular Sciences, The University of Western Australia

Associate Professor Amir Karton has played a leading role in the development of quantum chemical methods for highly accurate calculations of chemical properties such as reaction barrier heights.



For more information on these and other Academy awards and funding schemes, visit the Academy’s opportunities for scientists page.